United States · Additional driver · by company
Additional driver fees by rental car company in the USA
9 companies reviewed. Additional driver: Enterprise: $15/day; Alamo: $15/day; Avis: Amount not published; Budget: Amount not published; SIXT: Amount not published; Hertz: $15/day; National: $15/day; Dollar: Amount not published; Thrifty: Amount not published.
Additional driver: answer table by company
The additional-driver fee, its cap and the spouse or partner rule for each company, from the reviewed rules. Each row is the value the company has at most of the airports where we hold a reviewed, current value; airports with a different reviewed value are listed under the table. A “Not stated” cell means the source does not say, not that the answer is no.
| Company | Additional driver | Cap | Spouse / partner | Same at | Status | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnterpriseCompany national terms | $15/day | Not stated by the source | Free for a spouse or partner | 10 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| AlamoCompany national terms | $15/day | Not stated by the source | Free for a spouse or partner | 10 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| AvisBranch page + company terms | Amount not published | Not stated by the source | Free for a spouse or partner | 4 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| BudgetBranch page + company terms | Amount not published | Not stated by the source | Free for a spouse or partner | 8 of 11 reviewed airports | Likely | 2026-10-10review due 2026-12-03 |
| SIXTCompany national terms | Amount not published | Not stated by the source | Not stated as free | 11 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| HertzBranch page + company terms | $15/day | $210 per rental | Free only in CA, IA | 8 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| NationalCompany national terms | $15/day | Not stated by the source | Free for a spouse or partner | 14 of 15 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| DollarCompany national terms | Amount not published | Not stated by the source | Not stated as free | 11 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
| ThriftyCompany national terms | Amount not published | Not stated by the source | Not stated as free | 11 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-04review due 2026-12-03 |
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works
Airports with a different reviewed value
Enterprise
- JFK: Additional driver: NY: $5/day · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner (Conditional)
Alamo
- JFK: Additional driver: NY: $5/day · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner (Conditional)
Avis
- MCO: Additional driver: Conflict: official sources disagree · Cap: Conflict: official sources disagree · Spouse / partner: Conflict: official sources disagree (Conditional)
- MIA: Additional driver: Conflict: official sources disagree · Cap: Conflict: official sources disagree · Spouse / partner: Conflict: official sources disagree (Conditional)
- LAX: Additional driver: Amount not published · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Not stated as free (Conditional)
- LAS: Additional driver: $11/day · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner (Conditional)
- JFK: Additional driver: Conflict: official sources disagree · Cap: Conflict: official sources disagree · Spouse / partner: Conflict: official sources disagree (Conditional)
- EWR: Additional driver: Conflict: official sources disagree · Cap: Conflict: official sources disagree · Spouse / partner: Conflict: official sources disagree (Conditional)
- SFO: Additional driver: Amount not published · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Not stated as free (Conditional)
Budget
- JFK: Additional driver: NY: $3/day · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner (Conditional)
- EWR: Additional driver: Amount not published · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Spouse or partner: fee waived at age 25+ with a valid licence (Likely)
- SFO: Additional driver: Amount not published · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Spouse or partner: fee waived at age 25+ with a valid licence (Likely)
Hertz
- LAX: Additional driver: $13.50/day · Cap: $216 per rental · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner in California (Conditional)
- JFK: Additional driver: $5/day · Cap: $210 per rental · Spouse / partner: Free only in CA, IA (Conditional)
- SFO: Additional driver: $13.50/day · Cap: $216 per rental · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner in California (Conditional)
National
- JFK: Additional driver: NY: $5/day · Cap: Not stated by the source · Spouse / partner: Free for a spouse or partner (Conditional)
Sources by company
Enterprise: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- Fee waived for: spouse or partner, corporate account.
“Any additional driver (excluding a spouse or domestic partner) will pay a daily fee. Renter’s spouse or domestic partner who meet the same age and driver’s license requirements of the renter are authorized drivers at no additional charge. Any additional authorized drivers must appear at time of rental and meet age and driver’s license requirements. An additional charge of $15.00 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY], fee_free_for[spouse_partner] ↗ (company national page)
“A spouse or domestic partner is the only permitted additional driver on a rental secured with a debit card Fees are also waived for the following: Corporate Contracts in the United States are allowed the following additional drivers at no charge Commercial (corporate) rentals The renter's business partner Employer or fellow associate All other additional authorized driver situations are subject to a daily charge.” — fee_free_for[corporate] ↗ (company national page)
“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)
“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 per rental day at airport and select downtown Chicago locations, and $10.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)
“At participating Enterprise locations in the United States, a vehicle can be rented in one location and returned to another; however, please be advised that: One-way rentals need to be booked in advance. Some one-way rentals are assessed a one-time drop charge or mileage/kilometer charge in addition to the rental rate. The drop charge fee varies by rental pickup location, rental return location and other factors.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Alamo: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- Fee waived for: spouse or partner, corporate account.
“Any additional driver (excluding a spouse or domestic partner) will pay a daily fee; Renter’s spouse or domestic partner who meet the same age and driver’s license requirements of the renter are authorized drivers at no additional charge. Any additional authorized drivers must appear at time of rental and meet age and driver’s license requirements. An additional charge of $15 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY], fee_free_for[spouse_partner] ↗ (company national page)
“A spouse or domestic partner is the only permitted additional driver on a rental secured with a debit card Fees are also waived for the following: Corporate Contracts in the United States are allowed the following additional drivers at no charge: Commercial (corporate) rentals The renter's business partner Employer or fellow associate, who has a signed corporate contract with Alamo and drives the car for business purposes and who meet normal renter requirements. Please Note: When booking via a third party; the relationship is with the Tour Operator and not Alamo directly. As a result; Alamo Insiders benefits will not apply. All other additional authorized driver situations are subject to a daily charge.” — fee_free_for[corporate] ↗ (company national page)
“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)
“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 for airport locations and select downtown locations, and $7.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)
“Some one-way rentals are assessed a one-time drop charge or mileage charge in addition to the rental rate. This is also known as an 'inter-city' fee. The drop charge fee varies by rental location, return location, and time of year. If there is a drop charge fee, it will be disclosed when you book via the web site and is payable at time of pick up. The rate to go one way may also be higher than if returning to the same location the car was picked up at. Please book your one-way rentals in advance. Rentals that are returned within the same city could be subject to a drop charge, mileage charge, or higher rate. Certain one-way rentals are not allowed.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Avis: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, FLL
- Fee waived for: spouse or partner.
“No add’l charge for your spouse/partner to drive the car if they meet age and licensing requirements.” — fee_usd_per_day, fee_free_for, min_age ↗ (exact-branch page)
“2.4(a) e-Toll fees (Standard). If you use the e-Toll service at any time during your rental, you agree to pay a convenience fee of $6.95 for each day on which you incur a toll up to a maximum amount of $34.95 per rental period (not to exceed 30 days). In addition, you will pay all tolls incurred at the maximum prevailing non-discounted or cash rates posted by the toll authority, regardless of the actual toll amount.” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)
“2.4(b) e-Toll Unlimited. Avis also offers e-Toll Unlimited, which includes the cost of tolls and convenience fees. If you choose e-Toll Unlimited, you agree to pay a daily flat fee of $10.99–$25.99, depending on checkout location, for each day of the rental period, whether or not you incur any tolls, up to a maximum of $54.95–$181.93 per week.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)
“Avis offers convenient one-way rentals at attractive rates. Pick up a car at one location and return it to another. Car type and availability vary by participating locations, and a drop-off charge may apply on certain rates.” — one_way_allowed ↗ (company national page)
“Most locations do not charge a drop-off or one-way fee. Pricing may vary by location.” — one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Budget: Likely · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, FLL, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA
- Fee waived for: spouse or partner.
“No additional driver fee for spouses and partners who are 25+ and licensed to drive.” — fee_free_for, min_age ↗ (exact-branch page)
SIXT: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, JFK, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- Other: Additional driver is free of charge in locations where required by applicable law
“Additional Driver A fee applies for the additional driver, whose details are noted in the rental agreement only if the additional driver presents a valid driver's license. For rentals in locations where required by applicable law, the additional driver is free of charge.” — fee_usd_per_day, waivers ↗ (company national page)
“you will pay us our administrative fee of $15.99 per usage day, up to a maximum amount of $99 per rental agreement, plus the applicable toll fee, for each time you use an automated express/toll lane during your rental without a personal transponder (or another method of payment).” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)
“Usually, all one-way rentals within Sixt locations are allowed. Additional fees may apply. In the case of unannounced and unauthorized one-way rentals, we reserve the right to charge an additional fee. International one-way rentals are not allowed.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Hertz: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, LAS, MCO, MIA
- Fee waived for: corporate account, loyalty member, AAA, USAA.
- AAA members: Spouse/domestic partner of AAA members free; AAO fee waived when both renter and AAO are AAA members (CDP# required)
- USAA members: No charge for qualified USAA-member additional operators on a USAA rental
- Additional driver minimum age: 20.
“Additional Authorized Operators Fees At corporate and participating licensee location, the additional fee is $15.00 per day with a maximum of $210.00 per rental for each Additional Authorized Operator.” — fee_usd_per_day, fee_cap_usd_per_rental ↗ (exact-branch page)
“Authorized Operators age 25 and older are automatically covered on the Rental Agreement. Authorized Operators are: - The employer, employee or fellow employee of renter on company business, (when booking includes company Corporate Discount Number). - The renter's spouse* for rentals that originate in California or Iowa. -The renter’s spouse or domestic partner** if the renter is a loyalty member of Hertz Gold Plus Rewards (all tiers) - Authorized Operators do not have to be present at time of rental. - There are no fees for Authorized Operators.” — fee_free_for, spouse_free_states ↗ (exact-branch page)
“must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24 the location's age differential will apply.” — min_age ↗ (exact-branch page)
“Exceptions AAA - Spouse/Domestic Partner of AAA members are not required to have a separate AAA membership in order to receive the free AAO privileges. For other rentals, the AAO fee is also waived when both the renter and the AAO are AAA members. AAA members need to enter their CDP# to receive the AAA benefits. USAA - No charge for qualified additional operators who are USAA members when signing on to a USAA rental when booking includes USAA discount number.” — waivers ↗ (exact-branch page)
“If you decline the optional PlatePass All-Inclusive service at the start of the rental period, but still use electronic toll roads and/or bridges during the rental period (including “cashless” or “all electronic” toll roads and bridges, as noted above), you will be liable for and we will charge you: (a) an administrative fee, plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate;” — toll_program, toll_fee_usd_per_day ↗ (company national page)
“If PlatePass is used to pay a toll, you will be charged for tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authority's highest undiscounted rate, plus the convenience fee set forth on your rental record.” — toll_fee_usd_per_day ↗ (company national page)
“That’s why Hertz offers convenient one-way car rentals across most of the US.” — one_way_allowed ↗ (company national page)
“Intercity fee is for rentals returned to a location other than the location specified in the Rental Agreement. If the rental has already started at the time the change is made, a Return Change Fee may also apply. Note: Tesla reservations are not allowed to return one way.” — one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
National: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DEN, DFW, EWR, FLL, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, PHX, SAN, SEA, SFO
- Fee waived for: spouse or partner, family, corporate account, disability companion.
- Loyalty members: Emerald Club member's spouse/domestic partner or immediate family sharing the licence address and meeting normal renter requirements
“An additional charge of $15 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY] ↗ (company national page)
“Rentals by Emerald Club members when the member's spouse, common law spouse, or same-sex domestic partner has the same address on the driver's license as the Emerald Club member and meets normal renter requirements. Rentals by Emerald Club members when the member's immediate family member (mother, father, son, daughter, brother or sister) has the same address on the driver's license as the Emerald Club member and meets normal renter requirements. Commercial (corporate) rentals when the renter's business partner, employer or fellow associate, who has an assigned corporate contract with National and drives the car for business purposes and meet normal renter requirements. Rentals for/by disabled renters who cannot drive (one additional driver fee will be waived)” — fee_free_for, waivers ↗ (company national page)
“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)
“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 per rental day at airport and select downtown Chicago locations, and $10.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)
“There is typically no drop charge for one-way rentals between airport locations*. All pricing details will be disclosed in the second step of the online booking process. *Restrictions may apply” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Dollar: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, JFK, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- Fee waived for: loyalty member, government travel, corporate account, disability companion.
- Additional driver minimum age: 20.
“Additional Authorized Drivers and Fees All additional authorized drivers are required to qualify to drive the vehicle. To qualify, DOLLAR requires all additional drivers, including spouses, to satisfy our minimum age requirements, have a valid driver’s license and pay an additional driver fee. However, the following additional drivers do not need to pay an additional driver fee or separately qualify as long as they meet our minimum age requirements and have a valid driver’s license: (1) Dollar Express Rewards Members (2) Government renters on official orders on a government rate plan, (3) Corporate account customers on corporate rate plans, and (4) Drivers/companions of physically impaired customers.” — fee_free_for ↗ (company national page)
“No additional driver fee is charged for a spouse or domestic partner of a renting Dollar Express Rewards Member. Renter and each AAO must be present to sign Rental Agreement, present an acceptable credit card or debit card (if renting city accepts debit cards) in their own name, or a current round-trip ticket (air, train or bus), show valid driver's license, and must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24, the location's age differential fee will apply.” — fee_free_for, min_age ↗ (company national page)
“If a customer declines the PlatePass® All Inclusive option, but still uses electronic toll roads and/or bridges during the rental period (including “cashless” or “all electronic” toll roads and bridges), you will be liable for and we will charge you an administrative fee , plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate” — toll_program ↗ (company national page)
“One-way Rentals One-way rentals within the U.S. and within Canada vary by DOLLAR location and vehicle availability. A one-way drop fee will apply.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
Thrifty: Conditional · same at ATL, BOS, DFW, EWR, FLL, JFK, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- Fee waived for: loyalty member, government travel, corporate account, disability companion.
- Additional driver minimum age: 20.
“Additional Authorized Drivers and Fees: All additional authorized drivers are required to qualify to drive the vehicle. To qualify, THRIFTY requires all additional drivers, including spouses, to satisfy our minimum age requirements, have a valid driver’s license, and pay an additional driver fee. However, the following additional drivers do not need to pay an additional driver fee as long as they meet our minimum age requirements and have a valid drivers license: (1) Thrifty Blue Chip Members (2) Government renters on official orders, (3) Corporate account customers on corporate rate plans, and (4) Drivers/companions of physically impaired customers.” — fee_free_for ↗ (company national page)
“must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24, the location's age differential fee will apply.” — min_age ↗ (company national page)
“If a customer declines the PlatePass® All Inclusive option, Thrifty will charge the customer an administrative fee , plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate” — toll_program ↗ (company national page)
“M. One-way Rentals: One-way rentals within the United States and within Canada vary by THRIFTY location and vehicle availability. A one-way drop fee will apply.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)
How this page is built
Values come only from reviewed company policy pages and terms. A value past its review date, marked Unknown or in Conflict is not counted. The page is published only while at least four companies have a reviewed, current value. The exact rule at your pickup branch can differ: open the airport page or check your trip before you book.
Related pages
Compare options with Discover Cars
Explore rental prices and review the available suppliers for your pickup location.
Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works