United States · Deposit · by company
Rental car deposits and card holds by company in the USA
4 companies reviewed. Card hold at most reviewed airports: Enterprise: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown.; Alamo: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown.; Avis: Booking-specific scenarios; confirm exact vehicle and payment; National: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown..
Deposit: answer table by company
How much each company holds on the card and how the hold is worked out, from the reviewed airport profiles. Each row is the value the company has at most of the airports where we hold a reviewed, current value; airports with a different reviewed value are listed under the table. A “Not stated” cell means the source does not say, not that the answer is no.
| Company | Summary | Published amounts | Basis | Same at | Status | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnterpriseBranch page | $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. | $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) | Branch page | 7 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-19review due 2026-11-18 |
| AlamoBranch page | $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. | $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) | Branch page | 7 of 11 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-19review due 2026-11-18 |
| AvisBranch page | Booking-specific scenarios; confirm exact vehicle and payment | $250 deposit only (credit card or debit card, prepaid booking, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (credit card, pay at pickup, supplier guidance); $300 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, 4+ days, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, up to 3 days, supplier guidance) | Branch profile; amounts are supplier guidance | 10 of 10 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-19review due 2026-11-18 |
| NationalBranch page | $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. | $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) | Branch page | 9 of 15 reviewed airports | Conditional | 2026-10-03review due 2026-12-29 |
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works
Airports with a different reviewed value
Enterprise
- LAS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- JFK: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket); $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- EWR: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket); $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- BOS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
Alamo
- LAS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- JFK: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket); $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- EWR: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket); $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- BOS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
National
- LAS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- JFK: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- EWR: Summary: $400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- BOS: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- SEA: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
- PHX: Summary: $300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown. · Published amounts: $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) · Basis: Branch page (Conditional)
Sources by company
Enterprise: Conditional · same at ATL, DFW, FLL, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- The published no-itinerary rule lists the higher deposit for premium and specialty categories.
- The reviewed location publishes this standard no-itinerary deposit.
deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)
Alamo: Conditional · same at ATL, DFW, FLL, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- The published no-itinerary rule lists the higher deposit for premium and specialty categories.
- The reviewed location publishes this standard no-itinerary deposit.
deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)
Avis: Conditional · same at ATL, DFW, EWR, FLL, JFK, LAS, LAX, MCO, MIA, SFO
- The branch describes a $250 authorization for prepaid credit or debit rentals; discretion and exact reservation terms remain controlling.
- Most credit-card rentals may require estimated charges plus $200. The branch may request more; the debit four-day rule does not apply to credit.
- Debit rentals of four days or more may require estimated charges plus $300; the branch may request more.
- Debit rentals of one to three days may require estimated charges plus $200; the branch may request more.
- The exact branch publishes conditional authorization guidance and reserves discretion to request more. These estimates are not a promise of pickup or an exact booking hold.
deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)
National: Conditional · same at ATL, DEN, DFW, FLL, LAX, MCO, MIA, SAN, SFO
- ATL: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
- ATL: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
- These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.
deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)
How this page is built
Values come only from reviewed company policy pages and terms. A value past its review date, marked Unknown or in Conflict is not counted. The page is published only while at least four companies have a reviewed, current value. The exact rule at your pickup branch can differ: open the airport page or check your trip before you book.
Related pages
Optional: Discover Cars Full Coverage
When you book through Discover Cars you can add its optional Full Coverage. It is Discover Cars’ own product, not the rental company’s waiver. In Discover Cars’ words:
- What it is: “It’s a reimbursement policy that refunds you for the deductible (excess) and eligible costs you might pay the rental company if your car is damaged, stolen, or affected by other covered incidents during your trip.” “This creates an agreement directly between you and DiscoverCars.com, completely separate from the rental supplier.”
- The rental desk still takes a deposit: “Full Coverage does not remove or reduce the supplier's security deposit requirements.” “Since the rental supplier cannot see our coverage in their system, you’ll still need to leave a standard security deposit at the rental desk using a credit card in the main driver's name.”
- You pay first, then claim: “If you're charged for damage covered by Full Coverage, you'll first need to pay the supplier and then submit a claim for reimbursement.” “file a claim within 90 days of dropping off the car.”
- Limit: “our Full Coverage reimburses the deductible you paid—up to the compensation limit listed on your voucher (maximum coverage limit is €5,000).”
- Not covered: “Full Coverage does not cover damages to third parties.” “Damage to the car’s interior and any special cleaning fees (for example, due to sand, mud, or pet hair) are not covered, unless they result directly from a vehicle collision.”
- If the rental contract is breached: “If the rental contract is breached (for example, drunk driving, off-road driving, or other forms of gross negligence), the supplier’s CDW coverage becomes void. In such cases, you may be held fully liable for the total value of the vehicle, and Full Coverage will not provide reimbursement.”
Discover Cars’ help articles do not state a price, so we don’t show one.
Sources (Discover Cars help centre, checked 2026-10-19): What is Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab) · Full Coverage covers up to a certain limit (opens in a new tab) · What is covered by Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab)
Affiliate disclosure: we are a Discover Cars affiliate. If you book through our Discover Cars links we may earn a commission, including a share when Full Coverage is added. The help-centre links above carry no affiliate ID. How this works
Compare options with Discover Cars
Explore rental prices and review the available suppliers for your pickup location.
Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works