Skip to main content

Newark · EWR · Fees

Rental car fees at Newark (EWR): additional driver, tolls and one-way

Updated

9 suppliers with reviewed fee terms at EWR: stated additional-driver fees $15 per day (4 of 9 suppliers state an amount); 4 waive the fee for a spouse or partner; stated toll-related fees $4.95 to $15.99 per day (5 of 9 suppliers state an amount); 8 state that one-way rentals are allowed.

Fees at EWR: answer table by company

9 of 9 listed companies have a reviewed, current value for this topic. Every value comes from a company policy page or terms document. A blank or “Not stated” cell means the source does not say, not that the answer is no.

Rental car fees at Newark (EWR): additional driver, tolls and one-way: one row per company, with the status, the date each value was last checked and a link to the policy page.
CompanyAdditional driverCapSpouse / partnerToll programOne-wayStatusLast checkedPolicy page
EnterpriseCompany national terms$15/dayNot stated by the sourceFree for a spouse or partnerTollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65Allowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Enterprise at EWR
AlamoCompany national terms$15/dayNot stated by the sourceFree for a spouse or partnerTollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65Allowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Alamo at EWR
AvisCompany national termsConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreee-Toll: $6.95 per toll day, up to $34.95Allowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Avis at EWR
BudgetBranch page + company termsAmount not publishedNot stated by the sourceSpouse or partner: fee waived at age 25+ with a valid licenceConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeLikely2026-10-04Budget at EWR
SIXTCompany national termsAmount not publishedNot stated by the sourceNot stated as freeAdministrative fee without a toll product (optional Toll pass: price varies by state): $15.99 per toll day, up to $99Allowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04SIXT at EWR
HertzBranch page + company terms$15/day$210 per rentalFree only in CA, IAPlatePass: fee not publishedAllowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Hertz at EWR
NationalCompany national terms$15/dayNot stated by the sourceFree for a spouse or partnerTollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65Allowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04National at EWR
DollarCompany national termsAmount not publishedNot stated by the sourceNot stated as freePlatePass: fee not publishedAllowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Dollar at EWR
ThriftyCompany national termsAmount not publishedNot stated by the sourceNot stated as freePlatePass: fee not publishedAllowed; fee not publishedConditional2026-10-04Thrifty at EWR

Airport and NJ charges at EWR

These charges and programmes are set by the airport, the state toll agency or state law, not by the rental company. Each line is copied from the official source linked beside it, with the period the source states. Confirm the total on your rental agreement.

  • State toll programme

    E-ZPass (also Toll-by-Plate), run by New Jersey E-ZPass.

    “Should I add my rental car information to my E-ZPass account? Yes, you have the option of adding a rental car.” — New Jersey E-ZPass, Frequently Asked Questions ↗

    “I rented a vehicle and drove over a Toll-by-Plate facility. How can I pay my toll? Customers should check with the rental agency about their policy with regards to travel on toll roads.” — New Jersey E-ZPass, Frequently Asked Questions ↗

    Checked 2026-10-19 · next review due 2027-04-17

  • State rental charge

    New Jersey Domestic Security Fee: $5 per day (New Jersey Domestic Security Fee).

    Applies only to the first 28 days of a rental.

    “The Domestic Security Fee is imposed on motor vehicle rental companies in New Jersey for each day or part of a day that a motor vehicle is rented. It is assessed at the rate of $5 per day for all motor vehicle rental companies doing business in this State.” — New Jersey Division of Taxation, Domestic Security Fee ↗

    “The fee applies only to the first 28 days of a rental agreement with the same renter, even if the actual rental extends beyond 28 days ($140 maximum fee).” — New Jersey Division of Taxation, Domestic Security Fee ↗

    Checked 2026-10-19 · next review due 2027-04-17

Compare with the national answer: Additional driver by company across the USA

Check my trip

Enter your own age, licence country and card to see which of these companies fit your situation.

Check my EWR trip

Questions about fees at EWR

How much is an additional driver at EWR?

Enterprise: $15/day. Alamo: $15/day. Avis: Conflict: official sources disagree. Budget: Amount not published. SIXT: Amount not published. Hertz: $15/day. National: $15/day. Dollar: Amount not published. Thrifty: Amount not published.

Is my spouse or partner free as an additional driver at EWR?

Enterprise, Alamo, Budget and National state that the fee is waived for a spouse or partner.

How much is the toll service at EWR?

Enterprise: TollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65. Alamo: TollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65. Avis: e-Toll: $6.95 per toll day, up to $34.95. Budget: Conflict: official sources disagree. SIXT: Administrative fee without a toll product (optional Toll pass: price varies by state): $15.99 per toll day, up to $99. Hertz: PlatePass: fee not published. National: TollPass Service: $4.95 per toll day, up to $34.65. Dollar: PlatePass: fee not published. Thrifty: PlatePass: fee not published.

Can I return the car at a different location from EWR?

Enterprise: Allowed; fee not published. Alamo: Allowed; fee not published. Avis: Allowed; fee not published. Budget: Conflict: official sources disagree. SIXT: Allowed; fee not published. Hertz: Allowed; fee not published. National: Allowed; fee not published. Dollar: Allowed; fee not published. Thrifty: Allowed; fee not published.

Sources and notes by company

Enterprise: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Fee waived for: spouse or partner, corporate account.

“Any additional driver (excluding a spouse or domestic partner) will pay a daily fee. Renter’s spouse or domestic partner who meet the same age and driver’s license requirements of the renter are authorized drivers at no additional charge. Any additional authorized drivers must appear at time of rental and meet age and driver’s license requirements. An additional charge of $15.00 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY], fee_free_for[spouse_partner] ↗ (company national page)

“A spouse or domestic partner is the only permitted additional driver on a rental secured with a debit card Fees are also waived for the following: Corporate Contracts in the United States are allowed the following additional drivers at no charge Commercial (corporate) rentals The renter's business partner Employer or fellow associate All other additional authorized driver situations are subject to a daily charge.” — fee_free_for[corporate] ↗ (company national page)

“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)

“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 per rental day at airport and select downtown Chicago locations, and $10.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)

“At participating Enterprise locations in the United States, a vehicle can be rented in one location and returned to another; however, please be advised that: One-way rentals need to be booked in advance. Some one-way rentals are assessed a one-time drop charge or mileage/kilometer charge in addition to the rental rate. The drop charge fee varies by rental pickup location, rental return location and other factors.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Alamo: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Fee waived for: spouse or partner, corporate account.

“Any additional driver (excluding a spouse or domestic partner) will pay a daily fee; Renter’s spouse or domestic partner who meet the same age and driver’s license requirements of the renter are authorized drivers at no additional charge. Any additional authorized drivers must appear at time of rental and meet age and driver’s license requirements. An additional charge of $15 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY], fee_free_for[spouse_partner] ↗ (company national page)

“A spouse or domestic partner is the only permitted additional driver on a rental secured with a debit card Fees are also waived for the following: Corporate Contracts in the United States are allowed the following additional drivers at no charge: Commercial (corporate) rentals The renter's business partner Employer or fellow associate, who has a signed corporate contract with Alamo and drives the car for business purposes and who meet normal renter requirements. Please Note: When booking via a third party; the relationship is with the Tour Operator and not Alamo directly. As a result; Alamo Insiders benefits will not apply. All other additional authorized driver situations are subject to a daily charge.” — fee_free_for[corporate] ↗ (company national page)

“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)

“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 for airport locations and select downtown locations, and $7.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)

“Some one-way rentals are assessed a one-time drop charge or mileage charge in addition to the rental rate. This is also known as an 'inter-city' fee. The drop charge fee varies by rental location, return location, and time of year. If there is a drop charge fee, it will be disclosed when you book via the web site and is payable at time of pick up. The rate to go one way may also be higher than if returning to the same location the car was picked up at. Please book your one-way rentals in advance. Rentals that are returned within the same city could be subject to a drop charge, mileage charge, or higher rate. Certain one-way rentals are not allowed.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Avis: Conditional · Company national terms

“2.4(a) e-Toll fees (Standard). If you use the e-Toll service at any time during your rental, you agree to pay a convenience fee of $6.95 for each day on which you incur a toll up to a maximum amount of $34.95 per rental period (not to exceed 30 days). In addition, you will pay all tolls incurred at the maximum prevailing non-discounted or cash rates posted by the toll authority, regardless of the actual toll amount.” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)

“2.4(b) e-Toll Unlimited. Avis also offers e-Toll Unlimited, which includes the cost of tolls and convenience fees. If you choose e-Toll Unlimited, you agree to pay a daily flat fee of $10.99–$25.99, depending on checkout location, for each day of the rental period, whether or not you incur any tolls, up to a maximum of $54.95–$181.93 per week.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)

“Avis offers convenient one-way rentals at attractive rates. Pick up a car at one location and return it to another. Car type and availability vary by participating locations, and a drop-off charge may apply on certain rates.” — one_way_allowed ↗ (company national page)

“Most locations do not charge a drop-off or one-way fee. Pricing may vary by location.” — one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Budget: Likely · Branch page + company terms
  • Fee waived for: spouse or partner.
  • The official EWR summary waives the additional-driver fee for a qualifying spouse or partner who is at least 25 and licensed. Other fee cases remain Unknown.

“No additional driver fee for spouses and partners who are 25+ and licensed to drive.” — fee_free_for, min_age ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-10-04.

SIXT: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Other: Additional driver is free of charge in locations where required by applicable law

“Additional Driver A fee applies for the additional driver, whose details are noted in the rental agreement only if the additional driver presents a valid driver's license. For rentals in locations where required by applicable law, the additional driver is free of charge.” — fee_usd_per_day, waivers ↗ (company national page)

“you will pay us our administrative fee of $15.99 per usage day, up to a maximum amount of $99 per rental agreement, plus the applicable toll fee, for each time you use an automated express/toll lane during your rental without a personal transponder (or another method of payment).” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)

“Usually, all one-way rentals within Sixt locations are allowed. Additional fees may apply. In the case of unannounced and unauthorized one-way rentals, we reserve the right to charge an additional fee. International one-way rentals are not allowed.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Conflicting sources. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Hertz: Conditional · Branch page + company terms
  • Fee waived for: corporate account, loyalty member, AAA, USAA.
  • AAA members: Spouse/domestic partner of AAA members free; AAO fee waived when both renter and AAO are AAA members (CDP# required)
  • USAA members: No charge for qualified USAA-member additional operators on a USAA rental
  • Additional driver minimum age: 20.

“Additional Authorized Operators Fees At corporate and participating licensee location, the additional fee is $15.00 per day with a maximum of $210.00 per rental for each Additional Authorized Operator.” — fee_usd_per_day, fee_cap_usd_per_rental ↗ (exact-branch page)

“Authorized Operators age 25 and older are automatically covered on the Rental Agreement. Authorized Operators are: - The employer, employee or fellow employee of renter on company business, (when booking includes company Corporate Discount Number). - The renter's spouse* for rentals that originate in California or Iowa. -The renter’s spouse or domestic partner** if the renter is a loyalty member of Hertz Gold Plus Rewards (all tiers) - Authorized Operators do not have to be present at time of rental. - There are no fees for Authorized Operators.” — fee_free_for, spouse_free_states ↗ (exact-branch page)

“must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24 the location's age differential will apply.” — min_age ↗ (exact-branch page)

“Exceptions AAA - Spouse/Domestic Partner of AAA members are not required to have a separate AAA membership in order to receive the free AAO privileges. For other rentals, the AAO fee is also waived when both the renter and the AAO are AAA members. AAA members need to enter their CDP# to receive the AAA benefits. USAA - No charge for qualified additional operators who are USAA members when signing on to a USAA rental when booking includes USAA discount number.” — waivers ↗ (exact-branch page)

“If you decline the optional PlatePass All-Inclusive service at the start of the rental period, but still use electronic toll roads and/or bridges during the rental period (including “cashless” or “all electronic” toll roads and bridges, as noted above), you will be liable for and we will charge you: (a) an administrative fee, plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate;” — toll_program, toll_fee_usd_per_day ↗ (company national page)

“If PlatePass is used to pay a toll, you will be charged for tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authority's highest undiscounted rate, plus the convenience fee set forth on your rental record.” — toll_fee_usd_per_day ↗ (company national page)

“That’s why Hertz offers convenient one-way car rentals across most of the US.” — one_way_allowed ↗ (company national page)

“Intercity fee is for rentals returned to a location other than the location specified in the Rental Agreement. If the rental has already started at the time the change is made, a Return Change Fee may also apply. Note: Tesla reservations are not allowed to return one way.” — one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-10-04.

National: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Fee waived for: spouse or partner, family, corporate account, disability companion.
  • Loyalty members: Emerald Club member's spouse/domestic partner or immediate family sharing the licence address and meeting normal renter requirements

“An additional charge of $15 per day for each additional authorized driver will be added to the cost of the rental, unless other contractual conditions apply. In New York state, the additional authorized driver charge is $5 per day.” — fee_usd_per_day, state_fees[NY] ↗ (company national page)

“Rentals by Emerald Club members when the member's spouse, common law spouse, or same-sex domestic partner has the same address on the driver's license as the Emerald Club member and meets normal renter requirements. Rentals by Emerald Club members when the member's immediate family member (mother, father, son, daughter, brother or sister) has the same address on the driver's license as the Emerald Club member and meets normal renter requirements. Commercial (corporate) rentals when the renter's business partner, employer or fellow associate, who has an assigned corporate contract with National and drives the car for business purposes and meet normal renter requirements. Rentals for/by disabled renters who cannot drive (one additional driver fee will be waived)” — fee_free_for, waivers ↗ (company national page)

“You will be charged $4.95 per day (also referred to as a TollPass Convenience Charge) for using the TollPass Service with a rental period maximum of $34.65, plus the amount of each toll that you incur” — toll_fee_usd_per_day, toll_fee_cap_usd ↗ (company national page)

“customers will pay a daily fee of $11.99 per rental day at airport and select downtown Chicago locations, and $10.99 per rental day at non-airport locations.” — toll_other_charges ↗ (company national page)

“There is typically no drop charge for one-way rentals between airport locations*. All pricing details will be disclosed in the second step of the online booking process. *Restrictions may apply” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Dollar: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Fee waived for: loyalty member, government travel, corporate account, disability companion.
  • Additional driver minimum age: 20.

“Additional Authorized Drivers and Fees All additional authorized drivers are required to qualify to drive the vehicle. To qualify, DOLLAR requires all additional drivers, including spouses, to satisfy our minimum age requirements, have a valid driver’s license and pay an additional driver fee. However, the following additional drivers do not need to pay an additional driver fee or separately qualify as long as they meet our minimum age requirements and have a valid driver’s license: (1) Dollar Express Rewards Members (2) Government renters on official orders on a government rate plan, (3) Corporate account customers on corporate rate plans, and (4) Drivers/companions of physically impaired customers.” — fee_free_for ↗ (company national page)

“No additional driver fee is charged for a spouse or domestic partner of a renting Dollar Express Rewards Member. Renter and each AAO must be present to sign Rental Agreement, present an acceptable credit card or debit card (if renting city accepts debit cards) in their own name, or a current round-trip ticket (air, train or bus), show valid driver's license, and must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24, the location's age differential fee will apply.” — fee_free_for, min_age ↗ (company national page)

“If a customer declines the PlatePass® All Inclusive option, but still uses electronic toll roads and/or bridges during the rental period (including “cashless” or “all electronic” toll roads and bridges), you will be liable for and we will charge you an administrative fee , plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate” — toll_program ↗ (company national page)

“One-way Rentals One-way rentals within the U.S. and within Canada vary by DOLLAR location and vehicle availability. A one-way drop fee will apply.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Thrifty: Conditional · Company national terms
  • Fee waived for: loyalty member, government travel, corporate account, disability companion.
  • Additional driver minimum age: 20.

“Additional Authorized Drivers and Fees: All additional authorized drivers are required to qualify to drive the vehicle. To qualify, THRIFTY requires all additional drivers, including spouses, to satisfy our minimum age requirements, have a valid driver’s license, and pay an additional driver fee. However, the following additional drivers do not need to pay an additional driver fee as long as they meet our minimum age requirements and have a valid drivers license: (1) Thrifty Blue Chip Members (2) Government renters on official orders, (3) Corporate account customers on corporate rate plans, and (4) Drivers/companions of physically impaired customers.” — fee_free_for ↗ (company national page)

“must be a minimum of 20 years of age. For those 20 through 24, the location's age differential fee will apply.” — min_age ↗ (company national page)

“If a customer declines the PlatePass® All Inclusive option, Thrifty will charge the customer an administrative fee , plus tolls incurred at the applicable tolling authorities’ highest undiscounted rate” — toll_program ↗ (company national page)

“M. One-way Rentals: One-way rentals within the United States and within Canada vary by THRIFTY location and vehicle availability. A one-way drop fee will apply.” — one_way_allowed, one_way_fee_usd ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-10-04.

Related pages

Car rental comparison

Compare options with Discover Cars

Explore rental prices for EWR and review the available suppliers.

Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.

Compare EWR rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)

Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works

Official supplier terms for EWR

Recheck the exact pickup location, card restrictions, deposit and cancellation terms before paying. A checker result does not reserve or approve a rental.

Enterprise official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Alamo official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Avis official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Budget official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

SIXT official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Hertz official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

National official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Dollar official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Thrifty official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.