Practical rental guide
How Much Is a Rental Car Deposit? Credit vs Debit by Company
A rental car deposit is usually a separate amount from the rental price: it is authorized on your card on top of the charges still due, and the selected rate, vehicle, card type and rental counter decide the final hold.
Compare dated US credit and debit authorization examples for nine companies, with branch, itinerary and vehicle conditions kept beside every amount.
What this guide helps you decide
Estimate the card room you may need and know which amount still requires branch confirmation.
Branch-scoped worked example
What must the card support at pickup?
A synthetic US$250 balance shows the addition only. Use the reservation-specific amount still due and the exact branch condition for your trip.
Planning formula
Rental charges still due + applicable deposit = estimated card room
Enterprise MCO · standard example
Orlando International Airport branch 07V1
- Charges still due
- US$250
- Published deposit
- + US$400
- Estimated card room
- US$650
No ticketed return itinerary; standard published deposit scenario.
Enterprise MCO · listed higher tier
Orlando International Airport branch 07V1
- Charges still due
- US$250
- Published deposit
- + US$850
- Estimated card room
- US$1,100
No ticketed return itinerary; only the exact higher-tier classes named by the branch.
Alamo BOS · standard example
Boston Logan International Airport branch 10Y3
- Charges still due
- US$250
- Published deposit
- + US$300
- Estimated card room
- US$550
No ticketed return itinerary; standard published deposit scenario.
These are planning examples, not quotes or eligibility decisions. At both airport branches, the published debit-card route requires a ticketed return itinerary, so do not use a no-itinerary credit-card example to assume debit acceptance.
Published credit and debit deposits by company
Each card type has its own dated source and conditions. A no-return-itinerary branch deposit, a national range and a maximum authorization are different kinds of evidence. Find the scenario that matches your booking before calculating available funds.
Compare credit and debit separately. A published amount can apply only to a named branch, vehicle, itinerary or rate. National guidance helps with planning; the exact reservation terms decide the authorization at pickup. All amounts below are in US dollars.
Enterprise
Credit card
$400; $850 for listed specialty classes
Specific branch scenario · JFK: no ticketed return itinerary
The JFK branch publishes these deposits for credit-card renters without a ticketed return itinerary. The $850 amount applies only to the source's named higher-tier groups. The ordinary return-ticket credit deposit is not stated; do not reuse this figure for that itinerary.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
$600 for the qualified no-return-ticket exception
Specific branch scenario · JFK: advance in-person qualification required
This JFK debit exception requires a reservation at least 72 hours ahead and in-person qualification at least 48 hours before pickup, with the branch's original supporting documents. It does not describe the ordinary airport debit route with a return ticket; that route's additional deposit is not published.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Alamo
Credit card
$400; $850 for listed specialty classes
Specific branch scenario · JFK: no ticketed return itinerary
The JFK branch publishes these deposits for credit-card renters without a ticketed return itinerary. The $850 amount applies only to the source's named higher-tier groups. The ordinary return-ticket credit deposit is not stated; do not reuse this figure for that itinerary.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
$600 for the qualified no-return-ticket exception
Specific branch scenario · JFK: advance in-person qualification required
This JFK debit exception requires a reservation at least 72 hours ahead and in-person qualification at least 48 hours before pickup, with the branch's original supporting documents. It does not describe the ordinary airport debit route with a return ticket; that route's additional deposit is not published.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Avis
Credit card
$200 additional in many rentals
General national guidance · US guidance published on the MCO branch page
Avis describes many credit rentals as estimated charges plus $200; others may hold only estimated charges or use exceptions. The explicit prepaid-debit $250 rule must not be assumed to apply to every prepaid credit rental. Confirm the authorization for the selected offer.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
$200 additional; $300 for 4+ days; prepaid debit hold $250
General national guidance · US guidance published on the MCO branch page
These are Avis's amounts for many debit rentals; exceptions may apply. A prepaid-debit $250 hold is additional to the amount already paid. Debit acceptance, airport itinerary and eligible vehicle requirements remain separate checks.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Budget
Credit card
Counter: up to $200 extra; prepaid: up to $250 hold
General national guidance · US required-credentials FAQ: indexed official text
The indexed official FAQ gives these limits beyond rental charges or prepaid amounts and lists a $100 minimum for specified replacement, prepaid and tour exceptions. The live policy block was not retrieved during this review; the current branch and rate terms determine the amount.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
Counter: up to $200 extra; prepaid: up to $250 hold
General national guidance · US required-credentials FAQ: indexed official text
The indexed official FAQ states these credit/debit limits with a $100 minimum for specified exceptions. Debit acceptance still depends on the location's qualifications. The live policy block was not retrieved; verify the amount against the branch and reservation.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
SIXT
Credit card
Standard: rental + $200 / $300 / $400; higher-group total floors $500 / $1,000 / $2,500
Published national range · Formal US rental information: exact vehicle codes and location groups
Airport and other standard locations use rental plus $200. Listed non-airport states use $300 or $400. Higher groups authorize the greater of the rental-plus-local-extra and their total floor; $500/$1,000/$2,500 are not universally extra deposits. The driven vehicle, upgrades and agreement control; 28-day-series long-term rentals have a separate exception.
Formula example: if your confirmed airport vehicle group has a $500 total minimum and rental charges are $400, compare $400 + $200 = $600 with $500. The higher amount is $600. This illustrates the formula; the actual vehicle code and agreement must match.
Use the source’s full authorization formula; do not add this figure to the rental price twice.
Debit card
Eligible standard groups: rental + $200 / $300 / $400
Published national range · Formal US rental information: debit-eligible vehicle codes only
The standard location amounts apply only where debit is accepted. US airport debit requires a matching renter-name return flight, train or bus ticket booked at least 24 hours before pickup. Higher groups generally require credit, with limited international-document exceptions. Do not apply the higher-group floors as a universal debit surcharge.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Hertz
Credit card
Up to $200 extra standard; named vehicle-group extras $300–$900
Published branch limit · MIA payment terms: conditional authorization and vehicle groups
The MIA endpoint gives an up-to-$200 standard authorization beyond estimated charges, with named SUV and specialty groups at $300/$400/$500/$750/$850/$900. This is not an exact standard charge or a dependable mapping from a generic luxury/SUV label. Reservation-specific terms may change the hold.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
$500 extra in the MIA policy; conditional up-to-$500 language also applies
Published branch limit · MIA: eligible cars and compact/small SUVs with return airline ticket
The debit section lists $500 beyond estimated charges and also describes a conditional authorization of up to $500. A return airline ticket matching the rental and two valid IDs are required, with eligible vehicle limits and possible credit screening. Pay Now requires a qualifying credit card.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
National
Credit card
$400; $850 for listed specialty classes
Specific branch scenario · JFK: no ticketed return itinerary
The JFK branch publishes these deposits for credit-card renters without a ticketed return itinerary. The $850 amount applies only to the source's named higher-tier groups. The ordinary return-ticket credit deposit is not stated; do not reuse this figure for that itinerary.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
$600 for the qualified no-return-ticket exception
Specific branch scenario · JFK: advance in-person qualification required
This JFK debit exception requires a reservation at least 72 hours ahead and in-person qualification at least 48 hours before pickup, with the branch's original supporting documents. It does not describe the ordinary airport debit route with a return ticket; that route's additional deposit is not published.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Dollar
Credit card
Up to $200 beyond estimated rental charges
General national guidance · US general policies: location and loyalty exceptions
The general policy describes $200 and up-to-$200 credit authorizations. A qualifying established Dollar Express Visa profile can waive the incremental amount. Franchise and reservation terms may differ; this is national planning guidance rather than branch approval.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
Up to $500 beyond estimated rental charges
General national guidance · US general policies: qualified debit rentals only
The general policy describes $500 and up-to-$500 debit authorizations. Airport debit requires a matching return ticket and two IDs for eligible car groups. Local restrictions, established Dollar Express Visa exceptions and franchise terms can change the outcome; prepaid reservations require credit.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Thrifty
Credit card
Up to $200 beyond estimated rental charges
General national guidance · US general policies: location and loyalty exceptions
The general policy describes $200 and up-to-$200 credit authorizations. A qualifying established Blue Chip Visa profile can waive the incremental amount. Local terms decide applicability; this national amount does not establish a reviewed branch authorization.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Debit card
Up to $500 beyond estimated rental charges
General national guidance · US general policies: qualified debit rentals only
The general policy describes $500 and up-to-$500 debit authorizations. Airport debit requires a matching return ticket and two IDs for eligible vehicle groups. Branch restrictions and established Blue Chip Visa exceptions still apply; Pay Now requires credit.
Additional to the rental charges that remain due, subject to the stated scenario.
Compare prices, then check each offer's deposit:
- MCO rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- MIA rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- FLL rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- LAX rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- LAS rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- JFK rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works
Release of a hold is different from access to the money
The supplier may release unused authorization after closing the rental, while your bank or card issuer takes additional time to restore the available balance. Avis's MCO terms make release subject to bank procedures; Enterprise's airport payment guidance says a refund can take up to its stated processing window. Ask your bank about debit availability before budgeting another hotel or flight payment from the same funds.
For a prepaid rate, use the amount still due at pickup, then add the applicable deposit or authorization. Do not add the entire prepaid rental price again unless the selected terms require it. Extensions, a different return time or a changed vehicle may trigger another authorization.
Price and pickup authorization are different numbers
Planning formula: rental charges still due at pickup + the applicable additional deposit = estimated card room. Use the branch's reservation-specific authorization total instead if it already combines both amounts; do not add the deposit twice. A deposit alone is not the total rental cost.
The advertised rental price is not necessarily the amount your card must support at pickup. A supplier can authorize estimated rental charges plus an additional amount, or use a vehicle- and location-dependent deposit.
Our checker separates the published deposit or extra hold from estimated total card room. If the branch does not publish a dependable amount, the result stays Not published rather than filling the gap with an average.
Enterprise Orlando airport: a conditional US$400 example
Enterprise's exact Orlando International Airport branch 07V1 publishes a US$400 deposit for renters without a ticketed return travel itinerary. The deposit is US$850 for its listed higher-tier classes, including Performance Sport and Full Size Luxury SUV. Confirm the supplier's class name, not just a booking site's description. Source checked 26 September 2026.
For illustration, assume US$250 of rental charges remains due, a qualifying credit card and the US$400 deposit scenario: US$250 + US$400 = US$650 of estimated card room. With the published US$850 class-specific deposit, the same assumed balance gives US$1,100. These are arithmetic examples, not quotes.
Do not apply these no-return-itinerary figures to every debit rental. This branch requires a ticketed return itinerary for debit acceptance; its other card, identity and vehicle requirements still apply. Having US$650 available does not make a no-itinerary debit rental eligible.
Alamo Boston airport: do not borrow another branch's amount
Alamo's Boston Logan Airport location 10Y3 publishes US$300 for the no-ticketed-return-itinerary deposit scenario, with US$850 for its specified higher-tier classes. Its debit route also requires a ticketed return itinerary. These are BOS terms, not a supplier-wide or MCO rule. Source checked 26 September 2026.
For the standard US$300 scenario, the same hypothetical US$250 still due gives US$250 + US$300 = US$550. Check all qualification conditions and the exact vehicle class before relying on that planning amount. This guide's source comparison does not establish a fully verified BOS checker record.
Use the checker without mistaking funds for approval
Select the actual pickup airport and enter the card you will present, the renter's age, return-itinerary status and vehicle group. Enter your estimated rental charges and the credit or card funds currently available. Compare the result's deposit, estimated card room and evidence—not just its headline status.
Use available credit for a credit card, not its original credit limit; existing transactions may already use some of it. For debit, allow for money unavailable while a hold or posted transaction is outstanding. If a prepaid booking changes what is still due, ask the branch for its remaining pickup authorization rather than subtracting a prepayment blindly.
Not published, Unknown and Conflict mean that a dependable exact answer is missing or disputed. Extra funds cannot resolve an unacceptable card, missing document or conflicting policy. Confirm unresolved terms directly before committing to non-refundable travel.
Why the final amount can move
Authorization amounts can depend on facts that a generic deposit article does not know.
- Pickup location and whether it is an airport branch.
- Vehicle group, rental length and prepaid or pay-later rate.
- Payment method and the supplier's qualification rules.
- Estimated taxes, optional products, fuel and other open charges.
Release does not always mean immediately spendable
After the rental company releases an authorization or processes a refund, the issuing bank can take additional time to restore the balance. Ask both the branch and your card issuer which process applies to your card type; do not plan an onward trip around a same-day release.
Pickup checklist
- 1Get the selected rate's estimated total including taxes and extras.
- 2Ask the exact branch for the authorization or deposit basis.
- 3Check whether a debit transaction is a hold or a posted debit and refund.
- 4Leave a buffer rather than matching the estimate exactly.
- 5Keep the final receipt until the bank restores the funds.
Questions renters ask
Is the deposit included in the rental price?
Usually it should be treated as a separate pickup-funds requirement unless the exact terms clearly say otherwise. The amount may be authorized rather than finally charged.
Can this site promise the exact hold?
No. It can show a sourced amount and calculation basis, but the selected rate, vehicle and counter determine the final authorization.
Does enough money guarantee that my debit card will be accepted?
No. Card eligibility and available funds are separate checks. For example, the Enterprise MCO and Alamo BOS branch pages require a ticketed return itinerary for debit acceptance; meeting an example deposit amount does not remove that condition.
Sources reviewed
These sources support the general checks above. They do not replace the exact branch and selected-rate terms.
- Enterprise: published deposit evidenceJFK: no ticketed return itinerary; JFK: advance in-person qualification required; checked 2026-09-30
- Alamo: published deposit evidenceJFK: no ticketed return itinerary; JFK: advance in-person qualification required; checked 2026-09-30
- Avis: published deposit evidenceUS guidance published on the MCO branch page; checked 2026-09-30
- Budget: published deposit evidenceUS required-credentials FAQ: indexed official text; checked 2026-09-30
- SIXT: published deposit evidenceFormal US rental information: exact vehicle codes and location groups; Formal US rental information: debit-eligible vehicle codes only; checked 2026-09-30
- SIXT: published deposit evidenceFormal US rental information: exact vehicle codes and location groups; checked 2026-09-30
- Hertz: published deposit evidenceMIA payment terms: conditional authorization and vehicle groups; MIA: eligible cars and compact/small SUVs with return airline ticket; checked 2026-09-30
- Hertz: published deposit evidenceMIA payment terms: conditional authorization and vehicle groups; checked 2026-09-30
- National: published deposit evidenceJFK: no ticketed return itinerary; JFK: advance in-person qualification required; checked 2026-09-30
- Dollar: published deposit evidenceUS general policies: location and loyalty exceptions; US general policies: qualified debit rentals only; checked 2026-09-30
- Thrifty: published deposit evidenceUS general policies: location and loyalty exceptions; US general policies: qualified debit rentals only; checked 2026-09-30
- Enterprise: Orlando International Airport 07V1Exact US branch: deposit, class exceptions, payment and itinerary conditions; checked 26 September 2026
- Alamo: Boston Logan International Airport 10Y3Exact US branch: deposit, class exceptions, payment and itinerary conditions; checked 26 September 2026; not a new published checker record
Rules by airport
Sourced tables by company for the airports where enough rules are reviewed.
Now check the actual trip
Combine the airport, age, licence, card, funds, vehicle and route rather than relying on a general article.
Open the eligibility checkerOptional: Discover Cars Full Coverage
When you book through Discover Cars you can add its optional Full Coverage. It is Discover Cars’ own product, not the rental company’s waiver. In Discover Cars’ words:
- What it is: “It’s a reimbursement policy that refunds you for the deductible (excess) and eligible costs you might pay the rental company if your car is damaged, stolen, or affected by other covered incidents during your trip.” “This creates an agreement directly between you and DiscoverCars.com, completely separate from the rental supplier.”
- The rental desk still takes a deposit: “Full Coverage does not remove or reduce the supplier's security deposit requirements.” “Since the rental supplier cannot see our coverage in their system, you’ll still need to leave a standard security deposit at the rental desk using a credit card in the main driver's name.”
- You pay first, then claim: “If you're charged for damage covered by Full Coverage, you'll first need to pay the supplier and then submit a claim for reimbursement.” “file a claim within 90 days of dropping off the car.”
- Limit: “our Full Coverage reimburses the deductible you paid—up to the compensation limit listed on your voucher (maximum coverage limit is €5,000).”
- Not covered: “Full Coverage does not cover damages to third parties.” “Damage to the car’s interior and any special cleaning fees (for example, due to sand, mud, or pet hair) are not covered, unless they result directly from a vehicle collision.”
- If the rental contract is breached: “If the rental contract is breached (for example, drunk driving, off-road driving, or other forms of gross negligence), the supplier’s CDW coverage becomes void. In such cases, you may be held fully liable for the total value of the vehicle, and Full Coverage will not provide reimbursement.”
Discover Cars’ help articles do not state a price, so we don’t show one.
Sources (Discover Cars help centre, checked 2026-10-19): What is Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab) · Full Coverage covers up to a certain limit (opens in a new tab) · What is covered by Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab)
Affiliate disclosure: we are a Discover Cars affiliate. If you book through our Discover Cars links we may earn a commission, including a share when Full Coverage is added. The help-centre links above carry no affiliate ID. How this works
Compare options with Discover Cars
Pick your pickup airport to see its rental prices and available suppliers.
Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.
- MCO rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- MIA rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- FLL rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- LAX rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- LAS rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
- JFK rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works