Skip to main content

Fort Lauderdale · FLL · Deposit

Rental car deposits at Fort Lauderdale (FLL)

Updated

4 suppliers publish hold amounts at FLL: $200 to $850 plus rental charges, depending on card type, return ticket and vehicle class.

Deposit at FLL: answer table by company

4 of 9 listed companies have a reviewed, current value for this topic. Every value comes from a company policy page or terms document. A blank or “Not stated” cell means the source does not say, not that the answer is no.

Rental car deposits at Fort Lauderdale (FLL): one row per company, with the status, the date each value was last checked and a link to the policy page.
CompanySummaryPublished amountsBasisStatusLast checkedPolicy page
EnterpriseBranch page$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown.$850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditional2026-10-19Enterprise at FLL
AlamoBranch page$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket; specialty $850. With return ticket: unknown.$850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditional2026-10-19Alamo at FLL
AvisBranch pageBooking-specific scenarios; confirm exact vehicle and payment$250 deposit only (credit card or debit card, prepaid booking, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (credit card, pay at pickup, supplier guidance); $300 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, 4+ days, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, up to 3 days, supplier guidance)Branch profile; amounts are supplier guidanceConditional2026-10-19Avis at FLL
BudgetNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-28Budget at FLL
SIXTNo reviewed valueConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict2026-10-19SIXT at FLL
HertzNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Hertz at FLL
NationalBranch page$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditional2026-10-03National at FLL
DollarNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Dollar at FLL
ThriftyNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Thrifty at FLL

Not counted: Budget (unknown), SIXT (conflict), Hertz (unknown), Dollar (unknown), Thrifty (unknown). A rule marked Unknown, in conflict or past its review date is never shown as a fact.

At FLL these values match each company's national answer. Deposit by company across the USA

Check my trip

Enter your own age, licence country and card to see which of these companies fit your situation.

Check my FLL trip

Questions about deposit at FLL

How much is the rental car deposit at FLL?

4 reviewed suppliers publish hold amounts from $200 to $850 plus rental charges: Enterprise $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans). Alamo $850 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, large SUVs, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehicles); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans). Avis $250 deposit only (credit card or debit card, prepaid booking, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (credit card, pay at pickup, supplier guidance); $300 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, 4+ days, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, up to 3 days, supplier guidance). National $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans).

Does the deposit change with the card, return ticket or car at FLL?

Yes for Enterprise, Alamo and Avis: they publish more than one amount depending on card type, return ticket, rental length or vehicle class. See the amounts in the table.

Which companies have no reviewed deposit amount at FLL?

No reviewed amount is available for Budget, SIXT, Hertz, Dollar and Thrifty. That does not mean there is no deposit: check the company's pickup terms.

Is the deposit different for a debit card at FLL?

Avis: $250 deposit only (credit card or debit card, prepaid booking, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (credit card, pay at pickup, supplier guidance); $300 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, 4+ days, supplier guidance); $200 plus rental charges (debit card, pay at pickup, up to 3 days, supplier guidance).

Sources and notes by company

Enterprise: Conditional · Branch page
  • The published no-itinerary rule lists the higher deposit for premium and specialty categories.
  • The reviewed location publishes this standard no-itinerary deposit.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Alamo: Conditional · Branch page
  • The published no-itinerary rule lists the higher deposit for premium and specialty categories.
  • The reviewed location publishes this standard no-itinerary deposit.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Avis: Conditional · Branch page
  • The branch describes a $250 authorization for prepaid credit or debit rentals; discretion and exact reservation terms remain controlling.
  • Most credit-card rentals may require estimated charges plus $200. The branch may request more; the debit four-day rule does not apply to credit.
  • Debit rentals of four days or more may require estimated charges plus $300; the branch may request more.
  • Debit rentals of one to three days may require estimated charges plus $200; the branch may request more.
  • The exact branch publishes conditional authorization guidance and reserves discretion to request more. These estimates are not a promise of pickup or an exact booking hold.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Budget: Unknown · No reviewed value

deposit/hold ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-28.

SIXT: Conflict · No reviewed value

deposit/hold ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Conflicting sources. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Hertz: Unknown · No reviewed value

deposit/hold ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

National: Conditional · Branch page
  • FLL: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • FLL: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-03.

Dollar: Unknown · No reviewed value

deposit/hold ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

Thrifty: Unknown · No reviewed value

deposit/hold ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

Related pages

Optional: Discover Cars Full Coverage

When you book through Discover Cars you can add its optional Full Coverage. It is Discover Cars’ own product, not the rental company’s waiver. In Discover Cars’ words:

  • What it is: “It’s a reimbursement policy that refunds you for the deductible (excess) and eligible costs you might pay the rental company if your car is damaged, stolen, or affected by other covered incidents during your trip.” “This creates an agreement directly between you and DiscoverCars.com, completely separate from the rental supplier.”
  • The rental desk still takes a deposit: “Full Coverage does not remove or reduce the supplier's security deposit requirements.” “Since the rental supplier cannot see our coverage in their system, you’ll still need to leave a standard security deposit at the rental desk using a credit card in the main driver's name.”
  • You pay first, then claim: “If you're charged for damage covered by Full Coverage, you'll first need to pay the supplier and then submit a claim for reimbursement.” “file a claim within 90 days of dropping off the car.”
  • Limit: “our Full Coverage reimburses the deductible you paid—up to the compensation limit listed on your voucher (maximum coverage limit is €5,000).”
  • Not covered: “Full Coverage does not cover damages to third parties.” “Damage to the car’s interior and any special cleaning fees (for example, due to sand, mud, or pet hair) are not covered, unless they result directly from a vehicle collision.”
  • If the rental contract is breached: “If the rental contract is breached (for example, drunk driving, off-road driving, or other forms of gross negligence), the supplier’s CDW coverage becomes void. In such cases, you may be held fully liable for the total value of the vehicle, and Full Coverage will not provide reimbursement.”

Discover Cars’ help articles do not state a price, so we don’t show one.

Sources (Discover Cars help centre, checked 2026-10-19): What is Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab) · Full Coverage covers up to a certain limit (opens in a new tab) · What is covered by Full Coverage? (opens in a new tab)

Affiliate disclosure: we are a Discover Cars affiliate. If you book through our Discover Cars links we may earn a commission, including a share when Full Coverage is added. The help-centre links above carry no affiliate ID. How this works

Car rental comparison

Compare options with Discover Cars

Explore rental prices for FLL and review the available suppliers.

Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.

Compare FLL rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)

Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works

Official supplier terms for FLL

Recheck the exact pickup location, card restrictions, deposit and cancellation terms before paying. A checker result does not reserve or approve a rental.

Enterprise official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Alamo official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Avis official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Budget official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

SIXT official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Hertz official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

National official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Dollar official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Thrifty official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.