Skip to main content

National · Deposit

National rental car deposits at US airports

Updated

National publishes hold amounts at 15 airports with a reviewed value: $300 to $600 plus rental charges, depending on card type, return ticket and vehicle class.

National deposit: answer table by airport

15 of 15 listed airports have a reviewed, current National value for this topic. Airports with the same value, status and review date share one row. Every value comes from a company policy page or terms document.

National rental car deposits at US airports: airports grouped by identical reviewed value.
AirportsSummaryPublished amountsBasisStatusLast checked
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$300 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03
$400 + rent: standard credit, no return ticket. With return ticket: unknown.$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans)Branch pageConditionalBranch page2026-10-03

Check my trip

Enter your own age, licence country and card to see whether National fits your trip.

Check my trip

Questions about National deposit

How much is the National rental car deposit?

National publishes hold amounts from $300 to $600 plus rental charges: $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) (MCO, MIA, FLL, LAX, SFO, DFW, ATL, DEN and SAN); $300 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) (LAS, BOS, SEA and PHX); $400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) (JFK and EWR).

Does the National deposit change by airport?

Yes. The reviewed branch pages publish different amounts; see the table above.

Is the National deposit different for a debit card?

$400 plus rental charges (credit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans); $600 plus rental charges (debit card, no return ticket, cars, small SUVs, minivans) (the same at all 2 reviewed airports).

Sources and notes by airport

MCO: Conditional · Branch page
  • MCO: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • MCO: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

MIA: Conditional · Branch page
  • MIA: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • MIA: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

FLL: Conditional · Branch page
  • FLL: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • FLL: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

LAX: Conditional · Branch page
  • LAX: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • LAX: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

LAS: Conditional · Branch page
  • LAS: the published standard deposit is $300 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • LAS: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

JFK: Conditional · Branch page
  • JFK: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • JFK: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • JFK: the qualified no-return-ticket debit exception publishes a $600 deposit; the advance in-person qualification and document conditions also apply.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

EWR: Conditional · Branch page
  • EWR: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • EWR: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • EWR: the qualified no-return-ticket debit exception publishes a $600 deposit; the advance in-person qualification and document conditions also apply.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

SFO: Conditional · Branch page
  • SFO: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • SFO: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

DFW: Conditional · Branch page
  • DFW: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • DFW: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

ATL: Conditional · Branch page
  • ATL: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • ATL: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

BOS: Conditional · Branch page
  • BOS: the published standard deposit is $300 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • BOS: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

DEN: Conditional · Branch page
  • DEN: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • DEN: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

SEA: Conditional · Branch page
  • SEA: the published standard deposit is $300 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • SEA: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

PHX: Conditional · Branch page
  • PHX: the published standard deposit is $300 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • PHX: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

SAN: Conditional · Branch page
  • SAN: the published standard deposit is $400 for a credit rental without a ticketed return itinerary. Confirm the booked vehicle belongs to the standard group.
  • SAN: selected published premium/luxury/electric and Limo Van groups have an $850 no-return-ticket deposit. The checker's broad luxury, large/premium-SUV and12–15passenger-van categories do not identify that booked group, so the exact hold remains Unknown.
  • These dollar amounts apply to the published no-return-ticket scenarios. The extra deposit for a debit rental with a return itinerary is not stated; no zero-deposit inference is made.

deposit/hold ↗ (exact-branch page)

Last checked 2026-10-03.

Related pages

Car rental comparison

Compare options with Discover Cars

Pick your pickup airport to see its rental prices and available suppliers.

Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.

Official National pickup terms

Recheck the exact pickup location, card restrictions, deposit and cancellation terms before paying. A checker result does not reserve or approve a rental.

National official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.