Skip to main content

Fort Lauderdale · FLL · Debit card

Renting a car with a debit card at Fort Lauderdale (FLL)

Updated

4 of 9 listed suppliers accept a debit card at FLL under conditions (minimum debit-card ages run from 21 to 25; 4 require a ticketed return itinerary).

Debit card at FLL: answer table by company

4 of 9 listed companies have a reviewed, current value for this topic. Every value comes from a company policy page or terms document. A blank or “Not stated” cell means the source does not say, not that the answer is no.

Renting a car with a debit card at Fort Lauderdale (FLL): one row per company, with the status, the date each value was last checked and a link to the policy page.
CompanyDebit cardReturn ticketCardholderVehicle limitsStatusLast checkedPolicy page
EnterpriseBranch pageConditional: 21+Return ticket requiredMain renter's own card; physical requiredNot stated by the sourceConditional2026-10-19Enterprise at FLL
AlamoBranch pageConditional: 21+Return ticket requiredMain renter's own card; physical requiredNot stated by the sourceConditional2026-10-19Alamo at FLL
AvisBranch pageConditional: 25+Return ticket requiredMain renter's own card; form: confirmDebit not accepted for: large SUVs, minivans, passenger vans, luxury and specialty vehiclesConditional2026-10-19Avis at FLL
BudgetNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-10-19Budget at FLL
SIXTNo reviewed valueConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict: official sources disagreeConflict2026-10-19SIXT at FLL
HertzNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Hertz at FLL
NationalBranch pageConditional: 21+Return ticket requiredMain renter's own card; form: confirmDebit not accepted for: large SUVs, luxury and specialty vehiclesConditional2026-10-03National at FLL
DollarNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Dollar at FLL
ThriftyNo reviewed valueUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown: confirm with the branchUnknown2026-09-30Thrifty at FLL

Not counted: Budget (unknown), SIXT (conflict), Hertz (unknown), Dollar (unknown), Thrifty (unknown). A rule marked Unknown, in conflict or past its review date is never shown as a fact.

At FLL these values match each company's national answer. Debit card by company across the USA

Check my trip

Enter your own age, licence country and card to see which of these companies fit your situation.

Check my FLL trip

Questions about debit card at FLL

Can I rent a car at FLL with a debit card?

4 of 9 listed suppliers have a reviewed debit-card rule at FLL: Enterprise (Conditional: 21+); Alamo (Conditional: 21+); Avis (Conditional: 25+); National (Conditional: 21+). No reviewed value is available for Budget, SIXT, Hertz, Dollar and Thrifty; check the company before relying on it.

Do I need a return flight ticket to use a debit card at FLL?

Enterprise: Return ticket required. Alamo: Return ticket required. Avis: Return ticket required. National: Return ticket required.

What is the minimum age for a debit card rental at FLL?

Reviewed minimum debit-card ages range from 21 to 25, depending on the company.

Does the debit card have to be in my name at FLL?

Enterprise: Main renter's own card; physical required. Alamo: Main renter's own card; physical required. Avis: Main renter's own card; form: confirm. National: Main renter's own card; form: confirm.

Sources and notes by company

Enterprise: Conditional · Branch page
  • Debit with a return ticket: A ticketed return travel itinerary is required for the standard airport debit route. The licence name and address must match the renter's current home address. Only a spouse or domestic partner may be an additional driver on a debit-secured rental.
  • Debit without a return ticket: A ticketed return travel itinerary is required for an airport debit-card pickup. The licence name and address must match the renter's current home address.

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Alamo: Conditional · Branch page
  • Debit with a return ticket: A ticketed return travel itinerary is required for the standard airport debit route. The licence name and address must match the renter's current home address. Only a spouse or domestic partner may be an additional driver on a debit-secured rental.
  • Debit without a return ticket: A ticketed return travel itinerary is required for an airport debit-card pickup. The licence name and address must match the renter's current home address.

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Avis: Conditional · Branch page
  • Debit with a return ticket: Debit pickup is limited to Economy, Compact, Intermediate, Standard, Full-Size and Standard SUV groups; the broad SUV choice does not confirm the booked group. The exact branch requires an accepted debit-card processing logo, the renter's name and a return airline ticket coinciding with the rental. A credit-worthiness check applies; an Equifax freeze must be lifted, and this does not guarantee approval. With a non-U.S. licence, present the licence plus a passport or a Canadian enhanced licence. With a Mexico-issued licence, a valid travel visa may replace the passport as secondary ID. NEXUS does not replace these documents. This branch identity rule is separate from the previously reviewed country IDP/translation rule. Published hold amounts are discretionary guidance; the selected reservation and counter authorization control.
  • Debit without a return ticket: The published airport debit route requires a return airline ticket coinciding with the rental. The exact branch requires an accepted debit-card processing logo, the renter's name and a return airline ticket coinciding with the rental. A credit-worthiness check applies; an Equifax freeze must be lifted, and this does not guarantee approval. With a non-U.S. licence, present the licence plus a passport or a Canadian enhanced licence. With a Mexico-issued licence, a valid travel visa may replace the passport as secondary ID. NEXUS does not replace these documents. This branch identity rule is separate from the previously reviewed country IDP/translation rule.

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Budget: Unknown · No reviewed value

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-10-19.

SIXT: Conflict · No reviewed value

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

debit (conflicting source) ↗ (official page that disagrees)

Profile: Conflicting sources. Last checked 2026-10-19.

Hertz: Unknown · No reviewed value

debit ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

National: Conditional · Branch page
  • Debit with a return ticket: Present a ticketed return travel itinerary and a debit card with Visa, Mastercard or Discover logo. Only a qualifying spouse or domestic partner can be added to a debit rental. For the normal airport debit route, the licence name/address must match the current home address; active-duty military personnel are exempt from the address requirement.
  • Debit without a return ticket: A ticketed return itinerary is required for the reviewed airport debit qualification.

debit ↗ (exact-branch page)

Profile: Sources reviewed. Last checked 2026-10-03.

Dollar: Unknown · No reviewed value

debit ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

Thrifty: Unknown · No reviewed value

debit ↗ (company national page)

Profile: Evidence incomplete. Last checked 2026-09-30.

Related pages

Car rental comparison

Compare options with Discover Cars

Explore rental prices for FLL and review the available suppliers.

Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.

Compare FLL rental prices on Discover Cars (opens in a new tab)

Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works

Official supplier terms for FLL

Recheck the exact pickup location, card restrictions, deposit and cancellation terms before paying. A checker result does not reserve or approve a rental.

Enterprise official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Alamo official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Avis official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Budget official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

SIXT official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Hertz official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

National official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Dollar official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.

Thrifty official website ↗

Supplier homepage; select your pickup location there. We earn no commission.