Branch sources reviewed
Avis SFO: pickup requirements
Updated
Avis at SFO: minimum age 21+; 21–24: $27/day; debit card Conditional: 25+; deposit Booking-specific scenarios; confirm exact vehicle and payment. Debit: Conditional: 25+.
Rental requirements
These are evidence states for individual rules. A source-reviewed field is not a pickup approval; its location, country or recorded-offer scope and remaining conditions still apply.
| minimum age | 21+; 21–24: $27/dayFixed amount stated on this branch's own page (re-read 2026-10-19). Source wording: “($27 daily surcharge for renters under 25.) Debit cards accepted from renters 25+ with some limitations.”Source reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
|---|---|
| debit | Conditional: 25+Source reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
| itinerary | Return ticket requiredSource reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
| deposit/hold | Booking-specific scenarios; confirm exact vehicle and paymentSource reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
| license/ID | With a non-U.S. licence, present the licence plus a passport or a Canadian enhanced licence. With a Mexico-issued licence, a valid travel visa may replace the passport as secondary ID. NEXUS does not replace these documents. This branch identity rule is separate from the previously reviewed country IDP/translation rule.Source reviewed · country · checked 2026-09-30Official evidence |
| cardholder | Main renter's own card; form: confirmSource reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
| vehicle class | Age/payment restrictions; match the booked classSource reviewed · location · checked 2026-10-19Official evidence |
| additional driver | Driver qualification and agreement conditions applySource reviewed · location · checked 2026-09-05Official evidence |
Profile checked 2026-10-19 · next review by 2026-11-18. Each rule keeps its own source date above.
Tolls, one-way and additional-driver fees
Company terms from the reviewed rule data, not a price quote. “Not stated” means the source does not say; Unknown and Conflict are left as they are.
- Additional driver
- Amount not published. Not stated as free.
- Tolls
- e-Toll: $6.95 per toll day, up to $34.95
- One-way rental
- Allowed; fee not published
Branch page + company terms · reviewed 2026-10-04.
SFO Avis separates Preferred pickup from its general counter
Take AirTrain Blue Line to the Rental Car Center. The general Avis counter is on floor 4, independently listed in SFO's airport directory. Preferred customers instead go down to the third level's south end; these are two different pickup destinations within the facility.
The Avis counter is listed as open 24 hours. Use the route matching the reservation's service rather than sending every Avis renter to the fourth floor. SIXT's first-floor counter and National's floor 2 vehicle return are separate services and should not substitute for the Avis Preferred directions.
Branch service information checked 2026-09-30; this date is separate from the rental-rule evidence.
Exact policy evidence
Avis SFO: sources, dates and remaining gaps
8 source-reviewed fields · 0 Unknown · 0 Conflict. A reviewed source supports the stated condition and scope; it does not mean every rule is known or that your rental is approved.
Re-verified 2026-10-19 against the current official source (minimum age, debit, itinerary, cardholder, deposit/hold, vehicle class); stored values unchanged, status kept. Policy fields substantively rechecked 2026-10-03 against current official source content. Refreshed: minimum age, debit, itinerary, cardholder, deposit/hold, vehicle class. Unrelated operator identity, physical-card evidence outside SIXT, service information and other field dates are preserved. The official SFO page publishes local age, airport debit, hold, identity, vehicle, international-document, and California additional-driver terms.
- minimum ageSource reviewed
Current exact Avis SFO terms substantively rechecked for minimum age. Scoped exceptions and unestablished amounts remain explicit.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- debitSource reviewed
Current exact Avis SFO terms substantively rechecked for debit. Scoped exceptions and unestablished amounts remain explicit.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- itinerarySource reviewed
Current exact Avis SFO terms substantively rechecked for itinerary. Scoped exceptions and unestablished amounts remain explicit.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- cardholderSource reviewed
Current exact Avis SFO terms substantively rechecked for cardholder. Scoped exceptions and unestablished amounts remain explicit.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- deposit/holdSource reviewed
The exact branch publishes discretionary credit/debit/prepaid authorization guidance. It may request more; this is not a guaranteed exact hold.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- vehicle classSource reviewed
Current exact Avis SFO terms substantively rechecked for vehicle class. Scoped exceptions and unestablished amounts remain explicit.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-10-19
- additional driverSource reviewed
The reviewed official Avis SFO source directly publishes this field.
Scope: location · Source tier: A · Checked 2026-09-05
- license/IDSource reviewed
Avis's current official U.S. terms require a valid licence from the country of residence and an IDP for a non-Roman alphabet. Renters residing outside the U.S./Canada need their foreign licence, passport and return airline ticket to qualify for the quoted rate. This national document evidence does not verify other exact branch fields.
Scope: country · Source tier: B · Checked 2026-09-30
Conditional authorization scenarios
Match the payment method, itinerary, rate and vehicle before using an amount. An unstated amount is not zero.
The branch describes a $250 authorization for prepaid credit or debit rentals; discretion and exact reservation terms remain controlling.
Most credit-card rentals may require estimated charges plus $200. The branch may request more; the debit four-day rule does not apply to credit.
Debit rentals of four days or more may require estimated charges plus $300; the branch may request more.
Debit rentals of one to three days may require estimated charges plus $200; the branch may request more.
Card presentation and documents
- Physical card required at pickup
- Unknown
- Virtual card accepted at pickup
- Unknown
- Prepaid card accepted at pickup
- No
- Original licence required
- Yes
- Minimum licence-held period
- Not published in the reviewed evidence
- Non-Latin licence
- IDP required with original licence
Foreign licence and identity: With a non-U.S. licence, present the licence plus a passport or a Canadian enhanced licence. With a Mexico-issued licence, a valid travel visa may replace the passport as secondary ID. NEXUS does not replace these documents. This branch identity rule is separate from the previously reviewed country IDP/translation rule.
Official foreign-licence conditions · checked 2026-10-03
Vehicle groups and additional drivers
The additional driver must meet the published age/licence requirements and be added to the agreement.
Ages 21–24: excluded classes large suv, minivan, passenger van, luxury.
Debit excluded classes: large suv, minivan, passenger van, luxury.
Operating-entity evidence
Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC · unclassified · checked 2026-09-06.
SFO's Commission extended this named on-airport operating lease through August 31, 2027, and the current airport directory lists Avis. This verifies the airport operating or concession entity for the listed brand, not the final counterparty on every rental agreement.
Check your pickup
Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC · Identity.
Compare options with Discover Cars
Explore rental prices for SFO and review the available suppliers.
Check your chosen supplier’s card, deposit, age and pickup requirements. A booking remains subject to the supplier’s terms and checks at pickup.
Affiliate links: we are a Discover Cars and Booking.com affiliate and may earn a commission if you book through these links. How this works